Laser and Treatments: Testimonials

Giuseppe Lo Grasso, Palermo (Corleone)

Votazione: Eccellente
I am a 25 Sicilian man, my problem of strabismus started when I was 7 and a half after a car accident.

It had been a long time since I considered  to solve the problem with surgery, but my determination came out afte... Continua a leggere la testimonianzar I met Dr. Badala, who, after the first visit in his center in Catania, gave me a clear explanation of what I was going to undergo and how he would solve the problem.

I underwent surgery in Milan, at the Capitanio clinic.

The day before surgery Dr. Badala visited me and, together with the orthoptists, considered  how and what to operate.

In clinic I have a warm, affectionate and professional welcome, and I received clear and encouraging answers to all my questions.

During surgery I obviously did not feel anything because it was under general anesthesia ; at my awakening, I felt only a slight discomfort to the eye, mainly where there were stitches.

I underwent surgery in both eyes during the same session.

About one hour after awakening, doctors told me to open my eyes and, with my great pleasure, my problem of splitting images had been already reduced and, since then, my quick recover never ended.

Two days after surgery I came back home with my eyes perfectly aligned from the aesthetic point of view, while, from the visual point of view, I can see new improvements every day.

The doctor assured me that, if the problem will continue, I only need to change lenses and my problem will be solved.

It was a very positive experience, I regret to do not undergo surgery before and I suggest it to those who have my same problem but are reluctant about operation.

Alessandro Ciccazzo, Syracuse (Floridia)

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Astigmatism, Myopia
Soluzione: PRK
Last month I underwent surgery to correct myopia (-5.50), and a slight astigmatism, by PRK laser technology.

The operation lasted about 20 minutes for both eyes and it was totally painless.

I immediately realized t... Continua a leggere la testimonianzahat I have recovered my eyesight, although, during the first days after surgery, it appeared a little blurry.

As for the post-operative recovery, I can say that, apart from the first days when I felt some slight discomfort, I had no problems and I almost immediately resumed my daily activities.

One of the things that amazed me most was to ensure, through following follow-ups (the day after surgery), the full and immediate recovery of eyesight.

I suggest this treatment to anyone with my same problem, considering the results I obtained and the almost absence of post-operative symptoms.

Francesca Cassa, Brescia (Montichiari)

Votazione: Eccellente
Many years ago, herpes virus left  me with a corneal scar. Over time, I alternated periods of "quiet" to relapses of various seriousness (included a corneal ulcer).

My eyesight has gradually worsened to about 1/10.
... Continua a leggere la testimonianza
Most of the eye doctors I have consulted advised me against perforating corneal transplantation.

Then, I read on the internet about lamellar transplant technique. The first consultation (4 years ago at another medical center) left me with some concerns. Following the deterioration and difficulty in performing some simple tasks with one eye (e.g. drive), I tried again.

After having found the name of Dr. Badalà, I booked a visit. After preliminary tests I described the situation, he reassured me (I am a quite anxious person!). He proposed me the surgery, explaining the advantages, risks and prospects and I decided to undergo surgery, which was performed under general anesthesia.

The operation was successful, without any pain or postoperative problems (related to anesthesia).

After a few hours I already got up, the same day they removed my blindfold and I had already gained 1/10, how exciting!

The next day I was discharged, and I returned home by train.

I recovered my daily life immediately, with a few days of rest and appropriate care.

Now (six months after surgery) I am rigorously following therapy ,but I have no specific difficulties and obstacles (only some discomfort related to the sun and summer heat).

The eye is slowly improving, even someone asks me what has happened since the color is back like the other (before the opacity was so obvious that the two eyes seemed different color!) and at each check-up visual acuity earns some points (after six months I see 7/10 versus 1/10 in advance).

I thank Dr. Badalà for guiding me to this decision with the serenity which me and my family needed, and how he continues to guide me in the post-transplant course.

Sebastiana Finocchiaro, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
I had big problems due to cataract and high myopia (-20) with astigmatism (-2.0) in both eyes. So, a year ago, I underwent the crystalline lens replacement surgery with intraocular lens implantation.

I often did not r... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaecognize, at short distance, the faces of people I met and even contact lenses could not improve my vision (I wore them all day but they gave me a considerable discomfort to the eyes).

Now I see very well without glasses. I need them only to read closely, bust just for small letters. I see 10/10 from distance and I easily drive at night.

Sure, before surgery, I had so much anxiety, but with a slight sedation I was able to collaborate, by staring at the light the Doctor suggested me to look during surgery. I was assisted well in all phases of the operation. After about ten minutes I got back to my feet and I immediately see well from the operated eye without glasses.

I underwent surgery in the right eye at first and, two days later, in the left eye. Before the complete recover, I observed a short period of rest, I carefully followed the treatment with eye drops and I wore a protective shell at night.

For me a new life has started: I do not have to wear those heavy glasses or annoying contact lenses, which need a careful maintenance. Sure it is not easy to stay awake and collaborate during surgery, but the sureness of being operated by experienced hands helps very much.

Alessandro Bianchetti, Bergamo (Rogno)

Votazione: Eccellente
I have suffered from keratoconus in both eyes since 1996. In December 2014, after have used semi-rigid contact lenses for years, I underwent a corneal transplant with DALK (lamellar) tecnique, performed by Dr. Badalà in... Continua a leggere la testimonianza a little more than two hours.

The next day, I didn’t have to wear the blindfold and, despite a slight discomfort due to the light, I already noticed an improvement in my eyesight during vision test with eye chart. Everything went well and in the morning I left the hospital without any bandage.

At first I was very scared because I had thousands of questions in my mind: Will I fell pain? Is it worth it? When will I recover my eyesight? How long will be the convalescence?

I didn’t fell any pain (just a little discomfort during the first week). The stitches (about 16) didn’t give me any problem, as if they were not there.

The only problem is remember to put the different eye drops. Now I see 10/10 with soft lenses and, with a light heart, I will undergo surgery in the other eye in March 2016.

It is absolutely worth it!

Martha Sanchez, Bolivia

Votazione: Eccellente
I underwent surgery in both eyes with IOL AMD in September-October 2015.

The operation was excellent and I felt no pain or discomfort during and after surgery.

Since immediately after the surgery I saw much better ... Continua a leggere la testimonianzathan before, and now I can read well and see from distance, too.

Stanislao Porrini, Teramo (Morro d'Oro)

Votazione: Eccellente
After two stem cell transplants for non-Hodgkin lymphoma, I had a cutaneous and a eye rejection, with corneal ulcers in both eyes and a corneal perforation in the left eye.

I underwent 14 operations at other facilitie... Continua a leggere la testimonianzas and contacted 8 well-known Italian professors, but all my hope was gone as everybody refused to perform surgery, because of the seriousness of my problem (1/20 in the right eye, nothing in the left: I was almost blind!).

The only one who give me a good advice was a dear doctor who suggest me to talk to Dr. Badalà, because he could perform a Boston Keratoprosthesis, that she considered my only chance to recover a few dioptres.

After the visit, Dr. Badalà proposed me a corneal transplant.

I underwent the transplant on Dec. 4, 2014, in Milan and was followed by Dr. Badalà and his fantastic team.

After surgery, which lasted 3 hours and a half under general anesthesia, I felt as if nothing had happened: no eye pain and no discomfort due to anesthesia.

I give top marks to surgery and clinic! I was discharged after just one night without any problem.

After surgery, for about ten days I did frequent follow ups, than one every 15 days and after that one every month.

Now,while I’m waiting for removing the stitches and reopening eyelids, I’m following the treatment given by Dr. Badalà and I can see the light through the slot left for the dressing!

For me it is a great progress and I thank the only one who took charge of this delicate problem. Besides being an excellent doctor, Dr. Badalà is a person with whom you can speak freely, as you talk with friends, he made me feel at home and he was always available for any explanation.

Christian Altadonna, Palermo

Votazione: Eccellente
I am almost 19 and last year Dr. Badalà diagnosed me with a macular degeneration due to strong myopia.

I received an Eylea Intravitreal injection and my view improved a lot and in a few months; I immediately got back... Continua a leggere la testimonianza to my normal activities, for example using PC or watching television.

I suggest it because it has changed my life, it has improved it, and, in addition, Dr. Badalà has the ability to involve his patients in every way.

Giovanna Cataudella, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
Before surgery my daily activities were very penalized because my visual acuity was very reduced; I had lost most of my independence and this had even caused a nasty fall with a broken wrist.

The surgery had an excell... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaent outcome and I didn’t feel any discomfort during or after it.

The view has immediately improved, so that I could afford to go to lunch at the restaurant immediately after.

Leonardo Castiglione, Trapani

Votazione: Eccellente
I turned to Dr. Badala because I saw blurry and split images and he diagnosed me with keratoconus.

A few months later I underwent corneal transplant and after surgery didn’t have to wear a bandage, nor I felt partic... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaular pain or discomfort.

The view has immediately improved and I started some activities like watching television or using the computer. After a month I was able to play sports.

I suggest this surgery because I solved the problem and I was fine; both in Catania and in Milan I found experienced, helpful and kind people.

Alessio Zagarella, Messina

Votazione: Eccellente
I suggest to whom has my same problem to undergo the transplant because it changes your life, with some sacrifice and willpower.

You don’t feel any pain during or after surgery but just a little discomfort for a few... Continua a leggere la testimonianza weeks.

With the passing of time, my situation has improved even more by removing the stitch; even in this case you don’t feel any pain, because it is an operation of a few seconds.

Two years after surgery I feel another person.

Concetta Colosi, Messina (Pace del Mela)

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Keratoconus
Soluzione: Cross linking
My experience was totally positive because, about a week after surgery, my continuous migraine disappeared, and after four days I easily came back to work using the computer.

I felt just a little discomfort for contac... Continua a leggere la testimonianzat lens that I had to wear for a few days after surgery, but once removed everything went well.

One year after, I suggest this surgery because it has improved my quality of life, eliminating my frequent annoyances and recovering the eye sight that I had slowly lost.

Matteo Crisà, Palermo (Carini)

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Keratoconus
Soluzione: Cross linking
About two years ago I was diagnosed with keratoconus in both eyes.

At first I was very discouraged because the doctor told me that the only possible solution would be the corneal transplant; then, surfing the net, I c... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaame across Dr. Badalà website, where there were shown the different methods for the treatment of keratoconus and I decided to book a visit.

Dr. Badalà suggested me to undergo the Cross Linking surgery in both eyes at a distance of about three months of each other.

The surgery was performed under local anesthesia and throughout the treatment I didn’t feel any discomfort.

After a couple of hours, exhausted from the anesthesia, the eye was burning and watering. After a painkiller,  the discomfort eased and then it disappeared. The next morning I didn’t feel any discomfort.

The results of the surgery have gone above and beyond my wildest expectations, actually, as well as it stopped the disease, I had a gradual but constant improvement of the visual field from the first six months after surgery.

Before the operation I could see blurry and with the feeling of being against the light, I felt dazzled; a few months after surgery these disorders were attenuated until it completely disappears as the months went by. The curvature of the cornea is much improved. Myopia and astigmatism have been significantly reduced.

I may conclude saying that my experience was positive and I thank Dr. Badalà for his professionalism and humanity.

Dan Boca, Romania (Cluj-Napoca)

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Keratoconus
I recently (about two weeks ago) underwent corneal transplant surgery for my right eye which has been affected by keratoconus for over 10 years. I have chosen to have this intervention done abroad and I reached Dr. Badal... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaa.

I was calm a few days before the surgery, but when the day came I got quite nervous, but I lost this feeling once the procedure began under local anesthesia. I couldn't see or feel anything during surgery, which was my initial concern. I did feel some pain during the first night after the anesthetic started to wear off, but the next days I only felt a minor discomfort.

My vision was extremely poor before the transplant, I could barely count my fingers and did not see any letters on the vision chart.

The same day of surgery I could already see much better.  Just one week after surgery my vision without glasses improved to 4/10.

I can say that Dr. Badala and his staff were very polite, patient, helpful and have a professional attitude. I am grateful for everything they have done! For me there was really  nothing unsatisfying during this whole experience.

I wouldn’t have second thoughts to contact Dr. Badala in case of any other eye problem or intervention I would need.

Salvatore Colosi, Messina (Pace del Mela)

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Keratoconus
Soluzione: Cross linking
I have a disease called keratoconus. I underwent Cross linking in both eyes over a year ago, and it was a simple operation, fast and painless.

After a few months my visual acuity was already improved of 2/10 in each e... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaye. I am overcoming my problem thanks to this innovative technology, experience, professionalism and humanity of Dr. Badala and his team.

I suggest  to rely on competent people like Dr. Badala to solve your problem.

Gianna Lo Castro, Siracusa (Lentini)

Votazione: Eccellente
A few years ago I discovered I had a quite rare disease called "Fuchs' dystrophy," which affects the cornea.

I had troubles driving and was always seeing through the fog. The fog was getting worse and worse, making it... Continua a leggere la testimonianza difficult to distinguish different objects. I had great difficulty, even to watch TV.

I was considering myself on the way to blindness and was wondering how could I deal with my new "low vision status".  I did not give up and started looking around!

I finally found a specialist using cutting edge technology: Dr Badala. He explained me my condition and reassured me! Then he proposed a new corneal endothelium transplant called  DMEK. I finally decided and underwent surgery.

I faced some difficulties, like lying down supine for about 48 hours, but it was worth it! Now my low vision is just a memory!

I started to see immediately: everything was clear! I could even make out the pictures on TV! Coming back home, I saw my cat with its true colors in contrast: black and white, rather than an indefinite gray as before surgery !! So? !! ... Thanks a lot  Dr. Badalà!

Andrea Monitto, Siracusa (Carlentini)

Votazione: Eccellente
Soluzione: FemtoLASIK
I had 5 diopters of astigmatism in one eye and 3 diopters in the other eye when I decided to get FemtoLASIK (Over a year ago).

During the operation, the difficult part was to stare at a white light. Surgery was succes... Continua a leggere la testimonianzasful and my vision has significantly improved the day after. Finally freedom from glasses!

I had a sensation of sand in the eye the day of surgery but from the next day no more discomfort: I was impressed!

I recommend this surgery to those who want to get rid of glasses like me.

Ilaria Denti, Milan

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Myopia
Soluzione: PRK
I underwent PRK for correction of myopia about a week ago. Surgery was fast and painless.

Immediately after surgery my vision significantly improved, I felt a little burning and some light sensitivity. The first coupl... Continua a leggere la testimonianzae of days the light bothered me and I felt some burning from the fourth day I was able to stay in sunlight with sunglasses and my vision was quite clear.

One week after the operation I went back to all my regular everyday  activities, obviously paying some attention (avoiding too long PC exposure  and make up).

I see very well, although I am still one week post-op. Three-Four days of discomfort and burning are worth the effort of getting rid of glasses.

I certainly recommend PRK. I thank Dr. Badalà and his staff for being very professional and always available!

Sarah Bella Russotto, Caltanissetta (Gela)

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: High Myopia
The attitude that you have when you approach surgery is very important. I was very scared, fearful and my nervous tension was about to stop me on the day of surgery. Despite all of that, all the staff, receptionists, nur... Continua a leggere la testimonianzases, the anesthesiologist, the surgeon (Dr. Badalà)  have done a great job reassuring me and making me feel like a member of a big family.

With great patience and kindness, though my tiring intractability during surgery, the entire team has completed successfully the implantation of phakic intraocular lenses, which was absolutely painless.

I thank all those who have contributed to the great final result. Now I see 20/20 without glasses from both eyes. If you could go back, I would do the surgery again but smiling this time!

Mario Badalà, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
I didn’t feel any discomfort or pain during surgery. One hour after surgery I started to see well and that same evening I could watch TV.

The day after the operation I went back to use my computer and, after a month... Continua a leggere la testimonianza, I went back to play sports.

I recommend this surgery since I recovered 20/20 for distance and near and I will never have to wear glasses in the future.

Antonella Scroppo, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
I underwent Cataract surgery with Multifocal IOL around two months ago. I was hoping to regain the clear vision that I had lost years ago. In addition to cataract I had astigmatism, hypermetropia and presbyopia.

I was... Continua a leggere la testimonianza welcomed with very warm and professional manners (this is very important considering the little fear everyone has before surgery),  Dr. Badala explained in details what was going to happen during the operation . During surgery, you have to look where the doctor tells and keep still. It is a little effort but it is more than worth it!

After surgery the happiness of seeing everything well, far and near without glasses!

I underwent surgery in my second eye the following day and I recommend  doing so, seeing well with both eyes is excellent !  …and Dr. Badalà is a very professional and human doctor!

Grazia Brancè, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
I had cataract and was told that cataract surgery was going to be more complex because I also had cornea guttata.

I was very worried when I met Dr. Badalà who kindly reassured me.

I didn’t feel any discomfort du... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaring or after the operation and my vision improved immediately, allowing me to watch TV, use computer, work and play sports.

I recommend the cataract operation, I felt very comfortable during and after the operation despite my case being a complex case.

Dr. Badalà has angel hands!

Alessia Di Stefano, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Cataract
Soluzione: Cataract surgery
Over a year ago, at 18 years of age,  I was diagnosed with corticonuclear cataract and I underwent cataract surgery, which has completely changed my life.

Now I can see things I had never seen before!

Seeing well ... Continua a leggere la testimonianzais an amazing gift  and I am very grateful to those who gave me this precious gift back!

Enrico Nicotra, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
It was a happy experience of my life, even if, through some difficulties! Excellent assistance during surgery and only minimal discomfort.

Getting rid of glasses worn for a lifetime is freedom…. is a new life!

It... Continua a leggere la testimonianza is very important, for a radiologist like me, after a short adaptation I see much better pictures at my computer workstation. I move a lot better in the workspaces, finally seeing well. Even after a "mountain" of work, when I get home my eyes are no more red and tired as they used to be before the operation.

Seeing well the stars and the moon is amazing! :-)

Maria Sozzi, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
Soluzione: Cataract surgery
High myopia (17 diopters in both eyes) with cataract represented for me a considerable handicap: blepharitis and dry eye do not allow the use of contact lenses and with glasses I could barely see at intermediate distance... Continua a leggere la testimonianza.

All the ophthalmologists I went to suggested to postpone cataract surgery, considering the precarious conditions of the retina.

I trusted Dr. Badalà (I read good things on the Internet about his innovative surgeries) who, after all the necessary tests, reassured me about the feasibility of the operation.

On 22 and 23 January, 2015 in Milan, in a welcoming atmosphere with state of the art equipment, Dr. Badala' performed cataract surgery in both eyes, with implantation of monofocal aspheric IOL, under topical anesthesia.

I am pleased with an excellent result in both eyes, thanks to Dr. Badalà expertise!

Salvatore Casale, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Cataract, Myopia
Soluzione: Cataract surgery
Lately I had noticed that myopia was getting worse, having me to change glasses every six months. Dr. Badalà explained me that cataract was the problem and with cataract surgery he could remove cataracts and myopia at t... Continua a leggere la testimonianzahe same time.

I arrived at his clinic  with some tension, but I noticed an excellent organization and the great professionalism of all the staff, from the reception to the medical and nursing staff.

Dr. Badalà welcomed me with great cordiality, he explained the stages of the operation, giving me peace of mind and security.

The surgery lasted about ten minutes and took place under local anesthesia, so I could follow all its phases, without feeling any pain. After a couple of hours I went back to the hotel, seeing well with the operated eye.

After a week I underwent cataract surgery in the other eye, and I could go back to my home town with 10/10 distance vision, totally eliminating the myopia that I had since I was a boy.

I was very surprised to have been able to see clearly immediately after surgery and did not have trouble or need any bandage.

I suggest this surgery because it easily solves cataract and myopia problems and, at the same time, I could appreciate the remarkable competence, professionalism and humanity of the doctor and his staff.

Giuseppe Grasso, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
After having consulted several doctors, last year I turned to Dr. Badalà because I felt a discomfort to the eye. At first sight Dr. Badalà realized that there was something wrong in my right eye and, after a thorough e... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaxamination and an OCT, he confirmed the presence of a hole in the retina (which no other doctor had seen before) and he suggested me a vitrectomy.

After consulting other doctors who, despite having confirmed the diagnosis, suggested me to wait, I decided to entrust Dr. Badalà, because he inspired me with confidence during the visit.

I had a vitrectomy under local anesthesia about five months ago. The surgery was good and my eyesight has improved and I no longer see distorted images.

The thing that struck me most is that at first I was so used to don’t  see well that I didn’t  realize it, so much so that I had turned to Dr. Badalà just for a burning sensation to the eye. Thanks to the professionalism and accuracy of Dr. Badalà today I realize I see much better.

Antonio Parrino, Milan

Votazione: Eccellente
Soluzione: PRK
I underwent PRK for hypermetropia, astigmatism and presbyopia in January 2014.

About ten years ago I underwent PRK to correct myopia. Over the years my sight has gotten  worse, then I met Dr. Badala, who proposed me ... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaa customized PRK.

6 months after surgery the result is very good: I got back my eyesight without glasses.

The only advice I can give to those who approach this surgery for the first time is to keep the eye still during laser treatment. During the operation you do not feel any pain. Two/three days after day I felt a little but bearable discomfort.

It is very important to carefully follow the doctor's instructions such as: the use of eye drops and sunglasses, rest, do not touch the eye and avoid injuries...for the first few days it takes a little patience, but in the following weeks the result is appreciated day after day.

Vittoria Monza, Milan

Votazione: Eccellente
After an unsuccessful corneal transplant (resulting from a trauma), my right eye was given up for lost. Subsequently I met Dr. Badalà, and he told me that an artificial corneal transplant surgery (Boston Keratoprosthesi... Continua a leggere la testimonianzas) would have restored my sight.

I had no doubts, in December 2011 I underwent surgery.  During the operation under local anesthesia, I did not feel any pain. I immediately went home at the end of the operation, sure that Dr. Badala would be available at any time.

The post-operation was without any complication. I immediately went back to my everyday life with some attention (at the time I was 69), happy with my sight back from an eye that I had given up for lost. The only thing to keep in mind is to be extremely scrupulous in following the eye drops treatment and, above all, do not miss the regular follow-ups.

Dr. Badala is extremely helpful. With his  assistance you do not feel left alone! This point is very important .... And for this reason I'm very grateful.

Giovanna Maria Maringo, Palermo (Corleone)

Votazione: Eccellente
I underwent surgery for high myopia and astigmatism in both eyes on September, 19 and 20,  2013 and my quality of life has immediately improved.

Surgery began with a simple local anesthesia (eye drops). During surger... Continua a leggere la testimonianzay, I didn’t feel any discomfort or pain and the procedure took about ten minutes. After surgery, I immediately started to see better and I went out from the operating room without any bandage.

The only inconvenience I mentioned, during the first days after surgery, was a slight and bearable burning and light sensitivity which disappeared in the following days.

After surgery I immediately went back to my everyday life, finally without the need for contact lenses or glasses.

I recommend this surgery with Dr. Federico Badalà and his professional, kind and passionate staff.

Loren Bido, Genoa (Casarza Ligure)

Votazione: Eccellente
Soluzione: FemtoLASIK
I underwent FemtoLASIK for astigmatism seven months ago. Laser treatment was fast and painless.

My vision has improved immediately after surgery. On post-op. day 1 I could see very well and I got back to my every day ... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaroutine with minimal discomfort for just one/two days. This is a dream that comes true after an entire life with glasses.

My FemtoLASIK has been a 100% success. The competence and passion of doctor Badalà and his team are exceptional.

Sabrina La Barbera, Palermo

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Astigmatism, Myopia
Soluzione: PRK
I underwent laser treatment for myopia five months ago. The Laser was fast and I didn’t feel any discomfort or pain. Immediately after surgery I already saw better than before but not perfect.

After a few hours, I s... Continua a leggere la testimonianzatarted to feel some burning and light discomfort from both eyes. As time went by, my vision improved and the slight discomfort disappeared.

At the one month post laser visit I could see 20\20, what a joy!
After five months, my vision is 20/15 without any discomfort.

I am very satisfied with the Laser results and my new vision!

Tiziana Giannini, Catanzaro

Votazione: Eccellente
I am 54 years old, for the past 20 years I have used eye drops to treat glaucoma.
Three months ago, I underwent a new type of laser treatment called SLT (Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty), despite always being afraid of ... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaany sort of eye treatment.

I have not felt any discomfort during or after the SLT laser, I did it in both eyes together and it lasted about 5 minutes. When the Laser was over I felt much better, as I was a little scared before.

Prior to the SLT laser my eye pressure was 24/23 with different eye drops, now, two months later, is 16/15 without my previous eye drops which created a lot of discomfort.

I am very happy with the outcome.

Serenella Sanna, Medio Campidano (Serrenti)

Votazione: Eccellente
In 2005, after a number of visits and exams, I was diagnosed with Cornea Guttata Corneal Dystrophy and, all doctors told me that the corneal endothelial cells were disappearing and was going to become blind.

I looked ... Continua a leggere la testimonianzafor second opinions in Sardinia, Italy and Spain, but the answer was always the same. One day my husband yelled at me “don’t give up and search the internet”. I went to my computer and searched: "Best Doctors for corneal dystrophy". I found Dr. Badalà and I decided to book a visit on March 10th, 2015.

I got to know Dr. Badalà in person: he reassured me and, with patience and simple words, explained a new technique of corneal transplant called DMEK.
He described the procedure step by step and told me I would have not become blind.
I did not know whether to cry or smile!

I underwent DMEK surgery on May 14, 2015. One month after surgery I could see colors clearly as I have not seen in years, since then at every follow-up (the last on January 26th, 2016) I keep receiving just good news.

I sincerely thank Dr. Badalà, for giving me hope and, most importantly, my sight back.

Rachid El Khattab, Milan

Votazione: Eccellente
I have suffered from keratoconus for several years and I recently underwent a corneal transplant in both eyes: one in July, 2014 and the other in March, 2015.

Before surgery I had -12 of astigmatism with -5 of myopia ... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaand I saw nothing.

Thanks to Dr. Badalà, two months after my transplant I went back to a normal life, driving my car, using computer and started working easily again .

Nicola Spena, Caltanissetta

Votazione: Ottimo
I have not felt any discomfort or pain.
Vision has improved after a few weeks and practically immediately I started watched television.
I suggest this surgery because it improves quality of life.

Isabella Rossi, Colle Brianza (LC)

Votazione: Eccellente
Tired of glasses and contact lenses, I met Dr. Badalà, who, after an accurate exam, suggested laser treatment to correct myopia and astigmatism. What a great choice!

Laser treatment was perfectly successful, fast and... Continua a leggere la testimonianza painless. It was carried out in a surgical center with high standard equipment.

Dr. Badalà and his team had been very warm and welcoming, before and after the surgery. As fast as two days after surgery I went back to my everyday life with the only inconvenience of placing many eye drops many times a day for a few weeks.

Surgery was over two years ago and since then I’m enjoying great vision and freedom from glasses.
Thanks to Doctor Badalà for his competence and professionalism.

Chiara Rizza, Milano

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Astigmatism, Myopia
Soluzione: PRK
Tired of glasses and contact lenses, I met Dr. Badalà, who, after an accurate exam, suggested laser treatment to correct myopia and astigmatism. What a great choice!
Laser treatment was perfectly successful, fast and p... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaainless. It was carried out in a surgical center with high standard equipment.
Dr. Badalà and his team had been very warm and welcoming, before and after the surgery. As fast as two days after surgery I went back to my everyday life with the only inconvenience of placing many eye drops many times a day for a few weeks.
Surgery was over two years ago and since then I’m enjoying great vision and freedom from glasses.
Thanks to Doctor Badalà for his competence and professionalism.

Luca Formica, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
Problema: Keratoconus
I met Dr. Badalà with a vision of 20/100 in each eye as a result of advanced Keratoconus. Other doctors did not advice for surgery. In two months I overcome my fear and I underwent corneal transplant surgery.
Immediat... Continua a leggere la testimonianzaely before entrance in the operating room, Dr. Badalà and the nursing team were joking with me, making the atmosphere nice and relaxed. The surgery was under general anesthesia and lasted two hours.
Upon recovery the eye was a little itchy and burning, anyhow totally bearable. I was dischenged from the hospital the next day without a patch, but wearing a protecting eye shell. The most beautiful thing in my life was getting my vision back 20/30 days after surgery and rediscovering things I had forgotten.
Today, 5 years after surgeries (I had corneal transplant in both eyes) I have 20/20 vision with a very simple pair of glasses that I use only at night for driving and I see well and enjoy details that I have not seen for a long, long time.
Obviously, I’m careful with my life but I have a normal life, I do everything I like to do, like play soccer, go biking, go to the gym, play videogames, and so on.
I’m appreciative of the gift of vision, for which I thank Doctor Badalà and his team.

Piero Banna, Catania

Votazione: Eccellente
I underwent DMEK (an endothelian cornel transplant) in my right eye over a year ago. The corneal transplant was performed by Dr. Badalà.
My vision was very bad, 20/200 in the affected eye and it was bothering the visio... Continua a leggere la testimonianzan I had with my better eye, making it very difficult to use the two eyes together, specifically when driving.
I trust Dr. Badalà because of US training and said: “I’m at the last shore, even if the surgery doesn’t go well, this eye is only giving me problems”
All eye examination before and after the operation were performed in the excellent Eye center located in Catania.
The corneal transplant with the very new technique DMEK (Descemet Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty) was carried out in Milan in a private hospital, accredited with the National Healthcare,with state of the art equipment and was totally free of charge for me.
The surgery was under general anesthesia without complications. The only real problem, which was extensively explained by Dr. Badalà, is that I had to stay flat in bed for the first day with my head facing the ceiling. This is because the new endothelial cells transplanted are kept in place by a small air bubble. I was allowed to move every half an hour and from the next day I was allowed to go back to a normal life.
The time in the hospital - one night - was fast and warmed up by a very kind nursing team and frequent encounters with the doctor, who was always answering my questions, showing confidence and humanity.
No patching and fast progressive visual rehabilitation surprised me. Two months post-op. visual acuity was 20/40, similar to my better eye. Six months after visual acuity is 20/25 much better and clear than my “older” good eye.
When I went to buy a new pair of glasses my German optician, well-known in Catania, said: “I can’t believe it, it’s a miracle! Who’s the eye surgeon that made this new eye? Tell him he made a good job!”
I’m convinced that corneal transplant surgery is complex and requires high technology and a lot of experience, when a surgery like this seems simple and routinary, that means that the eye surgeon is really good.
Thank you Doctor Badalà, I’m starting to think seriously about getting a corneal transplant in the other eye.

Marco Scola, Milan

Votazione: Eccellente
From fear to joy! I was diagnosed with cataract, but my greatest wish was to correct also my high myopia and fear had always stuck me.

After a careful research I set up a visit with Dr. Badala and I immediately unders... Continua a leggere la testimonianzatood that I was on the right way. With just one surgery, the doctor freed me from cataracts, myopia (more than 20 diopters) and astigmatism(about 3 diopters).

Surgery took place in the operating room, I had the shirts, the electrodes for monitoring and, given that I chose local anesthesia to do not see or hear anything, they give me a shot near the eye.

Only six hours after surgery, removing the bandage, I had already noticed an improvement in eyesight. Just to be safer, I slept with a protective shell. The next day I did the check-up and, seeing that it was successful, I set up the other eye surgery 10 days later.

Just one month from both surgeries I had the great joy of being able to see 10/10 for the first time in my life. My life has completely changed and I am very satisfied with the result.